• The TUGBBS forums are completely free and open to the public and exist as the absolute best place for owners to get help and advice about their timeshares for more than 30 years!

    Join Tens of Thousands of other Owners just like you here to get any and all Timeshare questions answered 24 hours a day!
  • TUG started 30 years ago in October 1993 as a group of regular Timeshare owners just like you!

    Read about our 30th anniversary: Happy 30th Birthday TUG!
  • TUG has a YouTube Channel to produce weekly short informative videos on popular Timeshare topics!

    Free memberships for every 50 subscribers!

    Visit TUG on Youtube!
  • TUG has now saved timeshare owners more than $21,000,000 dollars just by finding us in time to rescind a new Timeshare purchase! A truly incredible milestone!

    Read more here: TUG saves owners more than $21 Million dollars
  • Sign up to get the TUG Newsletter for free!

    60,000+ subscribing owners! A weekly recap of the best Timeshare resort reviews and the most popular topics discussed by owners!
  • Our official "end my sales presentation early" T-shirts are available again! Also come with the option for a free membership extension with purchase to offset the cost!

    All T-shirt options here!
  • A few of the most common links here on the forums for newbies and guests!

Roku/Amazon issue

klpca

TUG Review Crew: Veteran
TUG Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
8,395
Reaction score
7,488
Points
749
Location
CA
Resorts Owned
SDO, Quarter House, Seapointe, Coronado Beach, Carlsbad Inn, Worldmark
I have tried the DIY method for this but I am getting nowhere. We have three Roku's - one downstairs, one upstairs, and now a new one for upstairs since the old one would freeze up. I wanted to deregister the old upstairs roku, but for some reason there are FIVE listed, listed as Roku 1, Roku 2 etc. No other information. I can't remember for sure but I may have ordered two a few years ago that had to be returned because they didn't work so I suspect that they are in the 1-4 mix.

Do I care about this? I was going to deregister the old one so that it wouldn't be connected to my account but is it necessary. Btw, I also do not see a way to rename them to prevent confusion in the future. Is there a way to do that? TIA.
 

Makai Guy

Administrator
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,568
Reaction score
1,372
Points
649
Location
Aiken, SC, USA
Resorts Owned
Spicebush (Hilton Head Island)
Btw, I also do not see a way to rename them to prevent confusion in the future. Is there a way to do that?
Log into your account at https://my.roku.com

Scroll down to your list of Linked devices. Each device name and location listing should be preceded by a round black symbol. If you look closely, that is a pencil symbol - click it to edit the device name or location.

If you don't know which unit is which, you'll have to go by their serial numbers. For the ones you've got hooked up you can get the model names, model numbers, serial numbers, etc., via Settings > System > About.

[Edit: mine seem to be listed on the order linked, if that helps.]

I have 3 Rokus in service and one old less capable one collecting dust in a drawer; I still have all 4 linked to my account. I leave the out-of-service one linked in case I ever should need it as a backup or want to take it with me on a trip (like to a timeshare) - set up is a lot easier if it's already linked to the account.
 
Last edited:

klpca

TUG Review Crew: Veteran
TUG Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
8,395
Reaction score
7,488
Points
749
Location
CA
Resorts Owned
SDO, Quarter House, Seapointe, Coronado Beach, Carlsbad Inn, Worldmark
Log into your account at https://my.roku.com

Scroll down to your list of Linked devices. Each device name and location listing should be preceded by a round black symbol. If you look closely, that is a pencil symbol - click it to edit the device name or location.

If you don't know which unit is which, you'll have to go by their serial numbers. For the ones you've got hooked up you can get the model names, model numbers, serial numbers, etc., via Settings > System > About.

[Edit: mine seem to be listed on the order linked, if that helps.]

I have 3 Rokus in service and one old less capable one collecting dust in a drawer; I still have all 4 linked to my account. I leave the out-of-service one linked in case I ever should need it as a backup or want to take it with me on a trip (like to a timeshare) - set up is a lot easier if it's already linked to the account.
Thanks Doug. I hadn't thought about going through the roku account. I just saw the list on Amazon and wanted to clean it up. I didn't realize that these weren't considered "Amazon" devices. I appreciate the help.
 

Makai Guy

Administrator
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,568
Reaction score
1,372
Points
649
Location
Aiken, SC, USA
Resorts Owned
Spicebush (Hilton Head Island)
Thanks Doug. I hadn't thought about going through the roku account. I just saw the list on Amazon and wanted to clean it up. I didn't realize that these weren't considered "Amazon" devices. I appreciate the help.
Where do you find your Rokus listed in your Amazon account (or did I misunderstand)? I have 4 Rokus with Prime Video active and I wanted to check if the names I gave them on my Roku account carried over to Amazon but I can't can't find them anywhere there.

All I have listed under Prime Video are our two phones and tablets, no Rokus.
 
Last edited:

klpca

TUG Review Crew: Veteran
TUG Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2006
Messages
8,395
Reaction score
7,488
Points
749
Location
CA
Resorts Owned
SDO, Quarter House, Seapointe, Coronado Beach, Carlsbad Inn, Worldmark
Where do you find your Rokus listed in your Amazon account (or did I misunderstand)? I have 4 Rokus with Prime Video active and I wanted to check if the names I gave them on my Roku account carried over to Amazon but I can't can't find them anywhere there.

All I have listed under Prime Video are our two phones and tablets, no Rokus.
Log on to your Amazon account then on the right hand side, choose Prime Video. Next choose Settings, then under Account & Settings, choose Your Devices. Hopefully your names will carry over to the Amazon site.
 

Makai Guy

Administrator
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,568
Reaction score
1,372
Points
649
Location
Aiken, SC, USA
Resorts Owned
Spicebush (Hilton Head Island)
Log on to your Amazon account then on the right hand side, choose Prime Video. Next choose Settings, then under Account & Settings, choose Your Devices. Hopefully your names will carry over to the Amazon site.
Found 'em, thanks. Nope, the device names I entered on the Roku account don't carry over to Amazon.
 
Top