• The TUGBBS forums are completely free and open to the public and exist as the absolute best place for owners to get help and advice about their timeshares for more than 30 years!

    Join Tens of Thousands of other Owners just like you here to get any and all Timeshare questions answered 24 hours a day!
  • TUG started 30 years ago in October 1993 as a group of regular Timeshare owners just like you!

    Read about our 30th anniversary: Happy 30th Birthday TUG!
  • TUG has a YouTube Channel to produce weekly short informative videos on popular Timeshare topics!

    Free memberships for every 50 subscribers!

    Visit TUG on Youtube!
  • TUG has now saved timeshare owners more than $21,000,000 dollars just by finding us in time to rescind a new Timeshare purchase! A truly incredible milestone!

    Read more here: TUG saves owners more than $21 Million dollars
  • Sign up to get the TUG Newsletter for free!

    60,000+ subscribing owners! A weekly recap of the best Timeshare resort reviews and the most popular topics discussed by owners!
  • Our official "end my sales presentation early" T-shirts are available again! Also come with the option for a free membership extension with purchase to offset the cost!

    All T-shirt options here!
  • A few of the most common links here on the forums for newbies and guests!

My computer is sick or I'm stupid

shagnut

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
49
Points
408
Location
Winston Salem, NC
Awhile back I kept getting messages that my security needed updating but I ignored it (that's the stupid part) and then everytime I try to do something I can't. Ex: I can go to my banking page, ebay, ticketmaster, rci, whatever and I can get to the main page but can get no further. I can get here or ts4ms but no security is needed. I updated to CA security (free with roadrunner) but that didn't help. Went to Best Buy and they say I have a virus and to restore computer to original settings. Tried to but it wouldn't let me. I can't even get my email!! If you have tried to reach me I'm not ignoring you, I'm stuck. Now What? shaggy
 

Jbart74

TUG Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
328
Reaction score
1
Points
16
Location
Springfield, MA
Sounds like you need to do a restore to factory settings. You WILL LOSE ALL OF YOUR FILES, PICTURES, EVERYTHING.

If this is unacceptable to you then you need very professional help, way beyond Best Buy.

I feel for you. I was there 4 months ago and did lose everything that wasn't backed up. It's a real bummer, but a good lesson.

Good Luck!:crash:
 

dioxide45

TUG Review Crew: Expert
TUG Lifetime Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
48,356
Reaction score
19,816
Points
1,399
Location
NE Florida
Resorts Owned
Marriott Grande Vista
Marriott Harbour Lake
Sheraton Vistana Villages
Club Wyndham CWA
Awhile back I kept getting messages that my security needed updating but I ignored it (that's the stupid part) and then everytime I try to do something I can't. Ex: I can go to my banking page, ebay, ticketmaster, rci, whatever and I can get to the main page but can get no further. I can get here or ts4ms but no security is needed. I updated to CA security (free with roadrunner) but that didn't help. Went to Best Buy and they say I have a virus and to restore computer to original settings. Tried to but it wouldn't let me. I can't even get my email!! If you have tried to reach me I'm not ignoring you, I'm stuck. Now What? shaggy

I ignored these warnings several years ago too. Then my PC got the Sasser virus. Needed to do a restore to end up clearning up all the problems. Luckily didn't have a lot at that time. Recently have started a better backup regiegm as we have far more data today.
 

shagnut

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
49
Points
408
Location
Winston Salem, NC
I can't figure out how to do a restore. Thank goodness my pics are backed up. That's all I worry about. shaggy
 

DaveNV

TUG Review Crew: Expert
TUG Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
22,169
Reaction score
29,653
Points
1,348
Location
Mesquite, Nevada
Resorts Owned
Free Agent
Try going to www.malwarebytes.org and downloading their free Anti-Malware tool. It will scan and clean your hard drive of all sorts of spyware, malware, adware, and other nasties that interfere with your computer use. I've found it to be very useful. The freeware version works great. The pay-for-it version gives extra options, but I haven't used that service. The link is http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Good luck!

Dave
 

shagnut

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
49
Points
408
Location
Winston Salem, NC
Dave. I went over to the website and they wanted 24.95 and I'd do it in a heartbeat if I was sure it would work. I'm still looking. shaggy
 

EZ-ED

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
549
Reaction score
72
Points
388
Location
ID
Hi Shaggy,

If you can get to http://shop.trendmicro.com/trialpay/?utm_source=Housecall&utm_campaign=TrialPay you can select the option on the left for a free virus/malware online scan. Another option may be to download Avira http://www.free-av.com/en/download/index.html a free antivirus software package on another PC, transfer it to a flash drive and then install it on your infected pc to try and clean your infected machine. A third option may be to do a restore to an earlier date and not a restore to factory specs (select START, then HELP and SUPPORT, then UNDO CHANGES WITH SYSTEM RESTORE, select a date sometime before your problems started and restore your system to that date, hopefully the virus will not have impacted your restore points.)

Good luck...
 

Icarus

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
4,095
Reaction score
0
Points
271
Dave. I went over to the website and they wanted 24.95 and I'd do it in a heartbeat if I was sure it would work. I'm still looking. shaggy

Like Dave said, go here:

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Notice what it says on that page:

Activating the full version unlocks realtime protection, scheduled scanning, and scheduled updating. It is a one time fee of $24.95.

So, if you don't activate it, you can still use it and run it. You just don't get those features listed above.

There's two links on that page. Download and Buy. Select the Download link. That will take you to download.com and then you download it from there. Save it to your desktop, and when the download is done, run the downloaded file. Most likely, that will be an installer. Run the installer, follow the instructions, and then run the program.

Anyway try that and see if it helps.

-David
 
Last edited:

TubTub

newbie
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Sounds like you need to get someone to have a look at it!
 

TubTub

newbie
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Sounds like you need to get someone to have a look at it!!
 

Jaybee

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Shaggy, are you having any good luck? I feel so bad for you. You must be so frustrated. I hope you get help soon. It looks like lots of good advice here.
 

Mosca

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
1,463
Reaction score
8
Points
248
Whatever you have will probably hide from whatever you download, or it will prevent what you download from initializing, or it might even keep you from accessing the website (some malware will cause a Google search to come back as a 404 error).

If you can get to a different computer, use it to download Superantispyware free edition onto a thumb drive or a CD. Then unplug the wire from the internet, turn off system restore on your computer, restart in safe mode, and install and run Superantispyware.

That is how to START cleaning everything up.
 

pammex

TUG Review Crew: ELITE
TUG Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
31
Points
408
Location
Chapala Mexico & USA
Whatever you have will probably hide from whatever you download, or it will prevent what you download from initializing, or it might even keep you from accessing the website (some malware will cause a Google search to come back as a 404 error).

If you can get to a different computer, use it to download Superantispyware free edition onto a thumb drive or a CD. Then unplug the wire from the internet, turn off system restore on your computer, restart in safe mode, and install and run Superantispyware.

That is how to START cleaning everything up.

Mosca I have at time gotten 404 errors when trying to post on here and other sites, are there other reasons than malware why you could get 404 errors???? Or am I in trouble? TX
 

DaveNV

TUG Review Crew: Expert
TUG Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
22,169
Reaction score
29,653
Points
1,348
Location
Mesquite, Nevada
Resorts Owned
Free Agent
Mosca I have at time gotten 404 errors when trying to post on here and other sites, are there other reasons than malware why you could get 404 errors???? Or am I in trouble? TX

A 404 error is basically a "Page not found" error. You can easily get it by mistyping the address of the webpage you're trying to view. Getting a 404 error does not automatically mean you have a malware infection.

Dave
 

pammex

TUG Review Crew: ELITE
TUG Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
31
Points
408
Location
Chapala Mexico & USA
A 404 error is basically a "Page not found" error. You can easily get it by mistyping the address of the webpage you're trying to view. Getting a 404 error does not automatically mean you have a malware infection.

Dave

Yup that is what it says page not found, but I am not typing in address but maybe clicking on a tab such as on here, it happens a lot....

Well.. I am glad to hear it does not automatically mean I have a malware infection......

Thanks so much for your reply...I already lost one computer some time back to a virus.....even with protection LOL.

I have AVG 8 Free edition running and I run ad-aware about once a week, and then I only last night downloaded Malwarebytes and ran that and it did find a Trojan, that the others did not pick up...

Someone told me you are not supposed to have all these programs on computer as can cause conflicts, only AVG is active at all times, the others I have to activate, so is that okay.....Jeez, you have to worry about getting the flu and colds and then you need an army of nurses to keep your computer safe....

I used to have McAffe subscription but it was a hog and frankly I had it when I lost my other computer.....who knows what to do these days...I knew I should have married a computer guy LOL....:doh:
 

DaveNV

TUG Review Crew: Expert
TUG Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
22,169
Reaction score
29,653
Points
1,348
Location
Mesquite, Nevada
Resorts Owned
Free Agent
Yup that is what it says page not found, but I am not typing in address but maybe clicking on a tab such as on here, it happens a lot....

If you click a tab or link that used to go to another page, but the address of that page has changed, you have a "bad" link. It goes to a dead end. Therefore, you'll get a 404 error. I see it all the time. It's just your browser's way of saying "I don't know where you want me to go."

Someone told me you are not supposed to have all these programs on computer as can cause conflicts, only AVG is active at all times, the others I have to activate, so is that okay.....

When it comes to virus protection and such, the best thing to do is to have one good anti-virus program running all the time. (Symantec, McAfee, AVG, whoever you like best. I use Trend Micro.) That will protect you against open invasion stuff like viruses that try to go active on your machine, or stuff that comes in attached to your email.

These other programs, such as the Malwarebytes program I recommended earlier, are for "sweeping" your computer to catch things that may have slipped by your anti-virus program. That's stuff like adware, malware, spyware, and tracking cookies, which often are not detected by other programs. Since you need to run them individually, they don't conflict with each other. And some are better at catching things than others - which is why the Malwarebytes program caught something your other programs missed. Running two or three of these once in awhile will do your system a lot of good, since they check up on each other's work.

Dave
 

Mosca

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
1,463
Reaction score
8
Points
248
I'm not saying it happens with every bit of malware. But I've been called on to clean computers hands-on, and sometimes they won't let me visit sites like www.pchell.com (a forum for anti-malware), Mijenix, etc, through a google and link. They WILL let me enter the address in the bar and get there that way. I cleaned my daughter's computer last month, and came across that situation, and I've seen it before as well.

No, not all 404 errors are malware. But sometimes malware leads to 404 errors and timeouts.
 
Last edited:

shagnut

TUG Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
49
Points
408
Location
Winston Salem, NC
When I get on a site and I try to go to anything that I'm involved with it says There is a problem with this websites security certificate. I am going to pay someone to fix it or go out and buy a laptop. shaggy

At least I can still get on here and oy.
 

pammex

TUG Review Crew: ELITE
TUG Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
1,019
Reaction score
31
Points
408
Location
Chapala Mexico & USA
BMWguy ( Dave), Thank you so much for the information...I really am learning more and more each day and your posts were very helpful....I appreciate your time...Have Happy Holidays...
 

DaveNV

TUG Review Crew: Expert
TUG Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
22,169
Reaction score
29,653
Points
1,348
Location
Mesquite, Nevada
Resorts Owned
Free Agent
BMWguy ( Dave), Thank you so much for the information...I really am learning more and more each day and your posts were very helpful....I appreciate your time...Have Happy Holidays...


My pleasure, Pam. Glad to help.

Dave
 
Top