• Welcome to the FREE TUGBBS forums! The absolute best place for owners to get help and advice about their timeshares for more than 32 years!

    Join Tens of Thousands of other owners just like you here to get any and all Timeshare questions answered 24 hours a day!
  • TUG started 32 years ago in October 1993 as a group of regular Timeshare owners just like you!

    Read about our 32nd anniversary: Happy 32nd Birthday TUG!
  • TUG has a YouTube Channel to produce weekly short informative videos on popular Timeshare topics!

    All subscribers auto-entered to win all free TUG membership giveaways!

    Visit TUG on Youtube!
  • TUG has now saved timeshare owners more than $24,000,000 dollars just by finding us in time to rescind a new Timeshare purchase! A truly incredible milestone!

    Read more here: TUG saves owners more than $24 Million dollars
  • Wish you could meet up with other TUG members? Well look no further as this annual event has been going on for years in Orlando! How to Attend the TUG January Get-Together!
  • Now through the end of the year you can join or renew your TUG membership at the lowest price ever offered! Learn More!
  • Sign up to get the TUG Newsletter for free!

    Tens of thousands of subscribing owners! A weekly recap of the best Timeshare resort reviews and the most popular topics discussed by owners!
  • Our official "end my sales presentation early" T-shirts are available again! Also come with the option for a free membership extension with purchase to offset the cost!

    All T-shirt options here!
  • A few of the most common links here on the forums for newbies and guests!

Cancelled upgrade

dlsmith725

newbie
Joined
Jul 9, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Resorts Owned
Westgate BlueTree in Orlando
I’m wondering if anybody else has any experience with something like this but we bought a Westgate timeshare one year ago, went back to the same place and put in for an upgrade however…. Upon discovering the room infested with bedbugs we decided to cancel it. We were told that when you upgrade the old account just vanishes. I am curious what exactly happens? Does it revert back to the original account or is that original account vanished and then you no longer are in a timeshare?
 
I am not really sure of the question. Are you asking if you put in for an upgrade and get it does the old reservation disappear? Certainly if you are granted an upgrade, the room you originally booked becomes available to others to book. So if you cancel the new upgraded room, there is nothing left for you unless they have another room they can put you in.
 
I am curious what exactly happens? Does it revert back to the original account or is that original account vanished and then you no longer are in a timeshare?

If you attended a presentation and, at that presentation, you bought an "upgrade" but rescinded within the allotted time frame, then the upgrade gets rescinded and you go back to what you originally owned. The original purchase from a year ago does not go away. You still own that.
 
Top